Ask and you will receive

Just a wee quick post tonight. 

A week or so ago I put a post on my trashnothing if anyone ever had fruit trees that produced more than they used and if I could pick the surplus. So far I’ve one picking (for want of a word) lined up, and I’ll ask again soon. 

Yesterday I saw a post giving away Gooseberries. This is kind for two reasons:

  1. They’re tasty and plentiful
  2. Gooseberries have nasty thorns. The offerer had done the hard work of picking them for me.
This is only a small part of the gooseberries

I was visiting my sister yesterday too, so I gave her half of the gooseberry bounty. Y’know, what goes around and all that.

I don’t know what I’ll make with these wee berries just yet. The Freegler suggested jam. I’m avoiding sugar right now, so I’ll have a think and let you know.

2 thoughts on “Ask and you will receive

  1. We recently got a glut of gooseberries from my grandparents, we stewed them for putting porridge etc. We didn’t use any sugar to see them but you could always use Stevia or something if it is too tart

    Like

    1. That’s not a bad plan. I had some porridge this morning actually (trying to eat through everything in my cupboards) and it would have been a nice accompaniment.
      I once made a really lovely gooseberry liqueur, but because the giver specifically said for jam, I feel as though I can’t, lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

