Exercising on a budget

Well, I’m just back from my first jog in about three years. It’s been three years because between now and then I’ve had my two babies, and that was a really great excuse to sit on the sofa and eat ice cream.

But now my return to work is looming, and there’s a family wedding in a couple of months, so I’ve been attempting to be good. I’m down a stone and a half already, so now I have to keep the pact I made with myself and start exercising.

Anyway.

Since we lost the Robinson centre, the nearest gym is a bit too far for me. Plus, the outside is free. I don’t really like jogging, but I really want to get back down to my pre-baby weight.

When it comes to running gear, I really have pushed the boat out. My t-shirt was a free one I picked up on New Years at Palookaville, and my running trousers I got free at a swapping party. My trainers are Kalenji from Decathalon, that were on offer and have already put in quite a few miles.

I jogged/ ran for about an hour there and back, and I have to say, I really enjoyed myself. I mean, I know that its partly endorphins, but a large part of it was just enjoying being out in the fresh air as the sun came down over Belfast. You don’t need to spend hundreds of pounds each year to  gym that you may or may not go to. Plus, the outdoors has things that gyms don’t have.

When I stopped to take a look at a couple of cherry trees to grab a couple of ripe ones, I found a wild plum tree. For a minute I was really excited- I’d thought for a minute that I’d found a greengage tree, especially when I tasted one and it seemed ripe. I grabbed a few and shoved them in my little teeny jogger’s pocket. I realised once I got home that I’d been a little hasty. They weren’t ripe at all. Maybe they’re wee Victoria plums, and I’ll have to wait until they go yellow before I pick more. I should have remembered that with plums if you have to pull them off the tree, rather than just plucking them, they aren’t ripe. Still, the tree was covered, so I’ll be back.

About the size of big grapes. I’ll leave them with bananas and see if they ripen up

There were also a ton of rowan berries, which you can make a jam from, but I hear isn’t overly worth the work. Maybe I’ll see what I can do.

I also found a little apple tree that I didn’t see before, and possibly a bigger one. It certainly looked like an apple tree. I’ll keep my eyes on it when I’m out on future jogs (if I stick to this running malarkey) and see if anything grows.

Leave a Reply

